CROWDFUNDING

To be able to take part in the Pacific Rowing Race 2025, we need an ocean-going rowing boat. Team SWISS RAW has launched a crowdfunding campaign to cover the initial payment on the boat. You can support us under the following link:

The race - Pacific

Together with the Atlantic Challenge, the Pacific Challenge is considered the toughest rowing race in the world and runs 4444 kilometres from Monterey (USA) across the central Pacific to Hawaii. The distance is shorter than the Atlantic Challenge, but the team expects more extreme conditions than on the Atlantic. The race will be a mental and physical test of endurance. It is therefore not surprising that more people have reached the summit of Everest than have successfully rowed across an ocean. Thanks to the worldwide public perception, we and our sponsors have the opportunity to use the race as a platform for our interests.

+/- 20

Teams set off from Monterey (USA) in June

50’000

calories each rower burns per week

1.4

million rowing strokes each team

15

litres of water each rower needs per day

15

kg is lost on average by each rower when crossing the Pacific Ocean

12

Metre-high waves are expected on the ocean

Official Teaser

NONSTOP IN 2H SHIFTS

Once the rowers leave the shores of Monterey, the elements, unnatural sleeping patterns and stormy seas will test the team both mentally and physically. They rely solely on their own muscle power. Apart from route guidance and interpreting the weather conditions, they are not allowed to receive any outside help until they arrive in Hawaii, USA. Rowing during the race takes place in tandem shifts: 2 hours rowing, 2 hours resting. They sleep for a maximum of 90 minutes at a time. Experience shows that the crossing takes between 30 and 60 days for a four-man team. The time between the individual shifts is used for eating, navigation, washing, sleeping and boat maintenance.

Race start 12 June 2025

EQUIPMENT

Rowing takes place in an ocean rowing boat, which is equipped with cabins at the bow and stern and has a total weight of around 1300 kg. Drinking water is obtained from the sea using a solar-powered desalination plant. All necessary equipment such as food, safety equipment, medical equipment and cooking gas for the entire crossing must be on board from the time of departure.

Rennstart - Team SWISS RAW

FROM THE RACE START UNTIL THE FINISH

For us as Team “SWISS RAW – Pacific”, the preparation and build-up phase until the start in June 2025 is just as important as competing in the race itself.

With our training concept, meticulous planning and full commitment, we do our best to realise our dreams and row to Hawaii as quickly as possible.

Team SWISS RAW - Ingvar Groza, Roman Möckli, Jan Hurni und Samuel Widmer

THE PREPARATION

Thanks to the training preparation for the Atlantic Challenge and the crossing of the Atlantic itself, the team has solid rowing and ocean experience.
Despite its recent success in winning the Atlantic Challenge, the team does not want to rest on its laurels, but instead wants to become even stronger and better - and learn from the past.

That's why they have been training hard since June 2023 to realise their dream. So far, rowing training, technique, strength and the right diet have been the main focus.

Thanks to the support of the Rowing Club Hallwilersee we can constantly improve our rowing technique.

Within the team, a precise time schedule was drawn up with the corresponding stage and development goals.

BECOME PART OF THE ADVENTURE

To finance the project, we are looking for supporters.

CROWDFUNDING

Um am Pazifikruderrennen 2025 teilnehmen zu können, brauchen wir ein ozeantüchtiges Ruderboot. Für die Anzahlung am Boot zu bewältigen hat das Team SWISS RAW ein Crowdfunding gestartet. Unterstützen könnt Ihr uns unter folgendem Link:

Das rennen – Pazifik

Die Pazifik Challenge gilt zusammen mit der Atlantik Challenge als das härteste Ruderrennen der Welt und führt von Monterey (USA) 4444 km über den mittleren Pazifik bis nach Hawaii. Die Distanz ist kürzer als bei der Atlantik Challenge, dafür erwartet das Team extremere Bedingungen als auf dem Atlantik. Das Rennen stellt eine mentale und körperliche Grenzerfahrung dar. Deswegen ist es nicht erstaunlich, dass mehr Menschen den Gipfel des Everest erreicht haben, als erfolgreich über einen Ozean gerudert sind. Dank der weltweiten öffentlichen Wahrnehmung haben wir mit unseren Sponsoren zusammen die Möglichkeit das Rennen als Plattform für unsere Interessen zu nutzen.

+/- 20

Teams stechen im Juni auf Monterey (USA) in See

50’000

Kalorien verbrennt jeder Ruderer pro Woche

1.4

Mio. Ruderschläge rudert jedes Team

15

Liter Wasser benötigt jeder Ruderer pro Tag

15

kg verliert jeder Ruderer durchschnittlich bei der Überquerung des Pazifiks

12

Meter hohe Wellen werden auf dem Ozean erwartet

Official Teaser

Nonstop im 2h schichtbetrieb

Sobald die Ruderer die Küste von Monterey verlassen haben, werden die Elemente, die unnatürlichen Schlafgewohnheiten und die stürmische See das Team sowohl psychisch als auch physisch auf die Probe stellen. Sie verlassen sich ausschliesslich auf ihre eigene Muskelkraft. Ausser der Routenführung und der Interpretation von den Wetterbedingungen dürfen sie bis zu ihrer Ankunft in Hawaii, USA, keine Hilfe von aussen erhalten. Der Ruderbetrieb während des Rennens findet in Tandemschichten statt: 2 Stunden rudern, 2 Stunden ruhen. Geschlafen wird maximal 90 Minuten am Stück. Erfahrungsgemäss dauert die Überquerung zwischen 30 und 60 Tagen für ein Vier-Mann-Team. Die Zeit zwischen den einzelnen Schichten wird dabei für Essen, Navigation, Waschen, Schlafen und für die Bootswartung verwendet.

Rennstart 12. Juni 2025

ausrüstung

Gerudert wird in einem Ozeanruderboot, ausgestattet mit Kabinen jeweils am Bug und Heck und einem Totalgewicht von ungefähr 1300kg. Das Trinkwasser wird aus dem Ozean durch eine solarbetriebene Entsalzungsanlage gewonnen. Alle notwendigen Ausrüstungsgegenstände wie Lebensmittel, die Sicherheitsausrüstung, medizinisches Equipment und Kochgas für die gesamte Überfahrt müssen vom Moment der Abfahrt mit an Bord sein.

Rennstart - Team SWISS RAW

Vom rennstart bis ins ziel

Für uns als Team “SWISS RAW – Pazifik” ist die Vorbereitungs- und Aufbauphase bis zum Start im Juni 2025 genauso wichtig wie das Bestreiten des Rennens selbst.

Mit unserem Ausbildungskonzept, einer minutiösen Planung und vollem Einsatz geben wir unser Bestes, um unsere Träume zu realisieren und so schnell wie möglich nach Hawaii zu rudern.

Team SWISS RAW - Ingvar Groza, Roman Möckli, Jan Hurni und Samuel Widmer

DIE VORBEREITUNG

Dank der Trainingsvorbereitung für die Atlantik Challenge und der Überquerung des Atlantik selbst, besitzt das Team solide Ruder und Hochsee Erfahrung.
Trotz des vergangenen Erfolgs mit dem Sieg an der Atlantik Challenge möchte das Team nicht auf seinen Lorbeeren ausruhen, sondern noch stärker und besser werden – und aus Vergangenem lernen.

Deswegen trainieren sie seit Juni 2023 hart für die Verwirklichung ihres Traumes. Bisher stand Rudertraining, Technik, Kraft und die richtige Ernährung im Vordergrund.

Dank der Unterstützung des Ruderclubs Hallwilersee können wir unsere Rudertechnik stetig verbessern.

Innerhalb des Teams wurde ein genauer Zeitplan mit den entsprechenden Etappen- und Entwicklungszielen erstellt.

TEIL DES ABENTEUERS WERDEN

Um das Projekt zu finanzieren, werden Unterstützer gesucht.